Plant based anxiety and a new year of university nerves

So I probably won’t be posting anything for the next couple of weeks as I will be in the middle of nowhere looking at rocks so that I can finish my degree at the end of the year!

I am booked to go do some of my practical assignments on a farm where the food is being provided, and I have promptly provided my details on the provided form, noting that don’t eat meat or dairy so I am curious to see how this will go… SURELY I am not the first to get difficult about the food situation?! As always I have thought ahead and started stashing snacks in my suitcase, though I’m not sure the dried peaches will make it to the trip…

WP_001201

I was a quite nervous about what the food would be, the questions which would follow and the disgusted looks and snickers at my potentially ‘boiled to mush’, thawed and reheated vege options… but after a little thought, I have decided that if it all goes to custard, at least I’ll have some snacks to tide me over, and it’s two weeks tops. Who knows, maybe they’ll surprise me with a lovingly cooked vege meal!? Fingers crossed…

After reading through our workbook, I doubt I will have much time to worry about food anyway. I guess that comes with the territory when you are receiving the same credits for a two-week course as you would for a full semester… you can probably expect a hefty workload! I think the pre-course nerves really set in when I was checking over the list of necessities to bring and I see “Torch – for working out in the field after 8pm”… AFTER 8pm. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not afraid of hard work and digging deep to get the work done, but when I see we may be out all night and still have notes, and the following reports, etc. to write up when we get back? Good lord…

It’ll be fine…

I think…

Maybe pray for me just in case…

Later Rockstars!

V

Leave a Reply

